CARI Infonet

Forgot password?
 Register

ADVERTISEMENT

View: 808|Reply: 4

[Dunia] Shared from *a doctor friend working in Infectious Diseases in Western Australia

[Copy link]
Post time 19-3-2020 09:21 AM From the mobile phone | Show all posts |Read mode
Must read: Shared from *a doctor friend working in Infectious Diseases in Western Australia.* In her words...

As most of you know, I don’t post on Facebook often, but I need you to read this article. I have been a doctor on the infectious diseases team this week, and many people have asked me the same questions about corona virus, and this is what I’ve been telling them: *we need to be prepared and wary, but not alarmed*.
The media has been very sensationalist and has a lot to answer for, including my inability to find toilet paper.

*The covid-19 virus is coming to Australia, and in most places it is already here.*

*For 80% of people who get it, you will develop mild cold symptoms.* What’s the big deal then? Why are we talking about closing schools and cancelling events and sports?

*Cancelling large gatherings will slow the spread of the virus, so hospitals are not overwhelmed*.

I’m a doctor and I don’t want to have to tell you that we can’t treat your mum because we’ve run out of oxygen. I don’t want to call you to tell you that your dad died in a corridor, because we didn’t have enough beds. *This is what Northern Italy is experiencing right now, and they have one of the best healthcare systems in the world*.
This is what areas of the US are currently experiencing.
They are *having to choose which patients live and which ones die*.

China had to build 16 new hospitals in a few weeks for a city with the same population as Australia, and *they still ran out of resources.* They had to fly in builders, cleaners, kitchen staff, nurses and doctors from all around China to have enough staff. *We don’t have this ability;* it took 4 years to build the Perth Children’s Hospital.