Sephiroth Publish time 15-11-2016 02:17 PM

Purpose in different Religions and Belief Systems

One of the main misconception seculars and atheists alike have in common is that ALL religions are the same. In this thread, I will attempt show that different religions have different purposes for their followers.

Comments are welcome as long as it is within the concept of the thread.

Sephiroth Publish time 15-11-2016 03:27 PM

Hinduism

I will start with Hinduism - the religion which I studied the most.

The purpose of Hinduism is to obtain Moksha. What is Moksha? In layman's term, it is a condition of existence where the Soul have matured and have severed itself from the Cycle of Reincarnation and Rebirths.

In Hinduism, a person who are born is bound to die. We all have an expired date on our body somewhere as soon as we came out of the womb and draw our first breath. But unlike the physical body which we are born into, the metaphysical body and the Soul is two different thing altogether. The Metaphysical body (or the Mind, Manasu as South Indians calls it) is nurtured along the way. As we grow up, experience things in this World, our metaphysical body (the Mind) grows along with it and influence our actions. That is why in Hinduism a person is held accountable only after he had reach the age of 15 (or 16) years old.

When we live our lives, we will accumulate what known as Karma - seeds form by our actions. Pu-ni-yam (Tamil for Merit) and Pa-a-mum (Tamil for for Sin). Think it as Deposit (Merit) and Credit (Sin). When we commit good action, there is a deposit going into our "account" and when we commit sin, there is a reduction from this deposit in form of credit.